STATE OF DELAWARE
STATE COUNCIL FOR PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES
Margaret M. O’Neill Bldg., Third Floor, Suite 1
410 Federal Street

Dover, Delaware 19901
302-739-3621

The Honorable John Carney, John McNeal, Director
Governor SCPD
MEMORANDUM

DATE: April 5, 2022

TO: All Members of the Delaware State Senate
and House of Representatives

FROM: Ms. Terri Hancharick, Chairperson -7
State Council for Persons with Disabilities

RE: H.B. 306 (Driver’s License for Individuals Registered as Sex Offenders)

The State Council for Persons with Disabilities (SCPD) has reviewed H.B. 306
which would revise existing law related to the issuance of driver’s licenses for
registered sex offenderst. SCPD opposes the proposed legislation given the myriad of
restrictions and public disclosure already required for individuals required to register
as sex offenders. It is unnecessarily intrusive and Council guestions what state
interest is served by identifying sex offenders to third parties in this manner, when
law enforcement and others can already identify them with the restriction “Y” if

necessary.

SCPD has the following observations.

! Although the exact data is unclear, there is substantial evidence that there are a disproportionate
number of individuals with intellectual disabilities who are convicted sex offenders. Callahan,
Jeglic, et al, Sexual Offenders With Intellectual Disabilities: An Exploratory Comparison
Study in an Incarcerated U.S. Sample
https://journals.sagepub.com/doi/10.1177/0306624X211066825 (12/2021).
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https://journals.sagepub.com/doi/10.1177/0306624X211066825

Currently, state law requires that individuals required to register as sex offenders for
a felony conviction must surrender their driver’s license to the sentencing court, be
Issued a temporary license, and report to the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for
issuance of a new license where letter code “Y” indicating sex offender status
appears in the “restrictions” area of the card. See 21 Del. C. § 2178(e). The law also
states the person will need to pay $5.00 fee for issuance of the new license.

The bill proposes to change the coding that appears on the license to “SO” indicating
sex offender. It is not clear from the synopsis of the bill provided why the change in
coding has been proposed, though presumably “SO” would more clearly indicate the
individual is a registered sex offender.

The bill also imposes a requirement that individuals who must register as a sex
offender for a felony conviction who have a nondriver identification card follow the
same process of surrendering the identification card to the court, receiving a
temporary card, and reporting to the DMV for issuance of a new card that has the
same coding (“SO” indicating sex offender). In these circumstances the individual
would also need to pay a $5.00 fee to the DMV for issuance of the new card.

While in most cases, the underlying offense that would result in a person would be a
felony, there are some circumstances contemplated by the relevant statute (11 Del. C.
8 4120) where a person could be required to register based on one or more
misdemeanor convictions. In those cases, the requirement to obtain and carry a new
driver’s license with the letter code to indicate sex offender status would appear to

not apply.

Several other states require some designation for registered sex offenders on state-
issued licenses, and in some states these laws have faced legal challenges. In 2019, a
federal trial court found that the state of Alabama’s requirements for labelling of
driver’s licenses and state IDs for registered sex offenders violated individuals’ First
Amendment rights. Doe v. Marshall, 367 F. Supp. 3d 1310 (M.D. Ala. 2019).
Similarly, in 2020, the Louisiana Supreme Court similarly found that laws requiring
that registered sex offenders to carry ID cards branded “sex offender” and
criminalizing alteration of such cards were unconstitutional because they constituted
“compelled speech” and were not the “least restrictive means” of serving the state’s
interest in public safety. State v. Hill, No. 2020-KA-03232020, WL 6145294 (La.
2020). Louisiana filed a petition for a writ of certiorari with the U.S. Supreme Court
in 2021; however, this petition was denied without a written opinion on October 4,
2021. Itis important to note, however, that in both cases the required labelling was
far more obvious (in Alabama the law had required driver’s licenses be labelled
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“Criminal Sex Offender” in bold, red text, and in Louisiana, IDs were required to be
labeled “Sex Offender” in all capital, orange text) as opposed to a letter code as used
on Delaware’s licenses; in the Alabama case the Court actually mentioned
Delaware’s use of the letter “’Y” to label driver’s licenses in a footnote as an example
of a more subtle means of enabling law enforcement to identify individuals registered
as sex offenders while “reducing the unnecessary disclosure of information to
others.” Doe at 1327.

It is unclear whether changing the letter coding to “SO” rises to the unconstitutional
level of compelled speech found in the Alabama and Louisiana cases. It certainly will
increase the likelihood that others will be made aware of a person’s status as a sex
offender, as at least anecdotally, there are many circumstances in public life where
presentation of identification is a requirement.

Thank you for your consideration and please contact SCPD if you have any questions
or comments regarding our position, observations, or recommendations on the
proposed legislation.

cc:  Ms. Laura Waterland, Esg.
Governor’s Advisory Council for Exceptional Citizens
Developmental Disabilities Council

HB 306 [Driver’s License for Sex Offenders (4-5-22)]



